a new tradition

I’ve been seeing this new tradition idea all over social media the last several weeks, and I have come to the conclusion that I am going to begin this tradition myself. Hopefully one day I will be able to continue this tradition with my own little family.

Have you ever truly stopped to think about what Christmas really is? We get so caught up in all the “Christmas spirit” and shopping and buying presents and spending time with loved ones…. Sometimes, I think we forget. We forget that Christmas isn’t all about Santa Claus and opening presents and comparing who got the best gifts…. No.

Christmas is about Jesus. I mean, it’s his birthday, isn’t it? Christmas is the day that God gave us His only son so that we may be saved from our sins. We forget the story of Joseph and Mary, the story of the inn keeper and the manger. We forget about Jesus.

We forget about Jesus a lot – not just at Christmas time. I am by no means saying it is ever okay to forget about Jesus, but it’s especially not okay to forget about Him at Christmas. We get so caught up in the worldly things that we don’t see the true meaning of the season. Yes, this season is about giving, yes this season is about joy and love and laughter, but it isn’t about being greedy and selfish.

So, I’ve decided to adopt this new tradition into my Christmas season, and I encourage you to do the same. Beginning tomorrow, I am going to read one chapter of the Book of Luke a day. Guess what? Tomorrow is December 1st. Christmas Eve is December 24th. There are 24 chapters in Luke. It kinda fits just perfect, right? What is even better is that Luke tells the story of Jesus. It tells the story from start to finish…. well, to the point that Jesus joins God in heaven. What better way is there to remember the reason for the season, as so many people say?

Yes, we all know the stories. We’ve been taught the stories from the time we were little kids – we may even be teaching them to our own kids. Why don’t we take a moment for ourselves, a moment to reflect and draw closer to our Heavenly Father? I’m not saying this should replace your current time you spend with God each day, but let this add to it. Add a few extra minutes to your routine, or read right before bed. Revisit the story of Jesus and experience a new tradition.

One of the best ways to draw close and build relationship with God is by reading the Bible and praying. Do your morning devotional. Read your Bible as you normally do. Add to it. Building onto the relationship that you already have with God is never a bad thing.

And even if you don’t currently have a strong relationship with God, or don’t even have one at all, this is a great way to get started. Read a chapter of Luke a day, pray over it, reflect on it. Allow God to begin to speak to you – I’m pretty sure He will if you give the chance.

If you choose to begin this tradition with me, let me know. We can reflect on our readings together.

If you don’t already have a strong relationship with God, or you want help finding the best way to build one, let me know. I would be more than happy to help you and pray for you.

2020 is almost over, y’all. We are almost there. I’m choosing to add a little more Jesus and joy to the last month of this crazy year.

🙂

Maddie

Leave a comment